On Campus: Sheila Pree Bright, Photographer

shepreebright-840x560

When: November 19, 2014

Where: Frances Graves Auditorium, Campbell Hall, Agnes Scott College

What: Lecture & Presentation by Sheila Pree Bright, photographer

Going into this event, I wasn’t quite sure what to expect, having never heard of Sheila Pree Bright before. When I saw the first photo, I was pretty much immediately blown away. Her projects have all been so subversive! From Suburbia, to Plastic Bodies, to Young Americans, Sheila has not stopped creating challenging commentary with her photo series. It was astonishing to me mostly because of how much I identified with it, as an aspiring filmmaker. It had never occurred to me how similar photography and film are as mediums! Her work further convinced me I’m on the right career path.

plasticbodies

At the time, I was probably least impressed by the Young Americans series, because it felt more comfortable than the others. But upon further reflection, I see that’s not necessarily the case. Especially in light of the recent court decisions not to indict the murderers of Eric Garner and Michael Brown, the photo below is very powerful.

icantbreathe

“I Can’t Breathe.”

Basically, I was just very impressed with Sheila Pree Bright’s work, and I look forward to seeing what else she comes up with in the years to come.

Leave a comment